e-CF 3.0 overview

The European e-Competence Framework (e-CF) consists of 5 competence areas, 40 competences and 5 levels of professionalism. For more information, click on a competence.

Dimension 1

5 e-CF areas
(A - E)
Dimension 1The 5 competence areas are:
  • A. PLAN
  • B. BUILD
  • C. RUN
Dimension 2

40 e-Competences identified
Dimension 2The 40 competences are accurately defined:
  • Competence title
  • General description
  • Requirements per e-CF level
  • Knowledge examples
  • Skills examples
Dimension 3
e-Competence proficiency levels
e-1 to e-5, related to EQF levels 3-8
Dimension 3There are 5 levels of proficiency defined, related to the 5 European Titles:
  1. Associate
  2. Professional
  3. Senior Professional / Manager
  4. Lead Professional / Senior Manager
  5. Principal
e-1 e-CF level 1The level is defined as follows:
  • Complexity: stable
  • Behaviour: plain problem solving
  • Autonomy / responsibility: responsible for own actions
EQF minimum education:
  • A-level education
  • Vocational Qualification level 2
e-2 e-CF level 2The level is defined as follows:
  • Complexity: unstable - predictable
  • Behaviour: complex problem solving
  • Autonomy / responsibility: independence in specified boundaries - supervision
EQF minimum education:
  • Higher National Certificate
  • Certificate of Higher Education
e-3 e-CF level 3The level is defined as follows:
  • Complexity: unpredictable
  • Behaviour: innovation
  • Autonomy / responsibility: works independently
EQF minimum education:
  • Bachelor degree
  • Graduate diploma
  • Graduate certificate
e-4 e-CF level 4The level is defined as follows:
  • Complexity: complex - unpredictable
  • Behaviour: strategic development
  • Autonomy / responsibility: full responsibility
EQF minimum education:
  • Master's degree
  • Postgraduate diploma
  • Postgraduate certificate
e-5 e-CF level 5The level is defined as follows:
  • Complexity: complex - unpredictable
  • Behaviour: shaping the future
  • Autonomy / responsibility: accountability
EQF minimum education:
  • Doctoral degree
A. PLANThis competence area includes the (strategic) preparatory work within the ICT domain.

A.1. IS and Business Strategy Alignment

A.2. Service Level Management

A.3. Business Plan Development

A.4. Product / Service Planning

A.5. Architecture Design

A.6. Application Design

A.7. Technology Trend Monitoring

A.8. Sustainable Development

A.9. Innovating
B. BUILDThis competence area covers the development and implementation of products, services or solutions.

B.1. Application Development

B.2. Component Integration

B.3. Testing

B.4. Solution Deployment

B.5. Documentation Production

B.6. Systems Engineering
C. RUNThis competence area is about the delivery, support and maintenance of products, services and solutions provided.

C.1. User Support

C.2. Change Support

C.3. Service Delivery

C.4. Problem Management
D. ENABLEThis competence area addresses (strategic) support activities in the ICT domain.

D.1. Information Security Strategy Development

D.2. ICT Quality Strategy Development

D.3. Education and Training Provision

D.4. Purchasing

D.5. Sales Proposal Development

D.6. Channel Management

D.7. Sales Management

D.8. Contract Management

D.9. Personnel Development

D.10. Information and Knowledge Management

D.11. Needs Identification

D.12. Digital Marketing
E. MANAGEThis competence area concerns about managing and improving the ICT domain.

E.1. Forecast Development

E.2. Project and Portfolio Management

E.3. Risk Management

E.4. Relationship Management

E.5. Process Improvement

E.6. ICT Quality Management

E.7. Business Change Management

E.8. Information Security Management

E.9. IS Governance

©2014 CEN CWA 16234-1:2014, superseded by European Standard: EN 16234-1:2016